RSS

So begineth me and Ruby on Rails

08 Jul

Wait before I begin this code stuff, I was just  playing Let Nas Down off that Born Sinner album….all I can say this some epic music…best line he says “Long live the idols may they never be your rivals,pac was like Jesus,Nas wrote the bible”  Then thanx to @TayianC I got the rmx to it where Nas replies to J cole…. Story for another day lakini…. Back to code

1883857_orig

As I blogged here last week >> am learning ROR (Ruby on Rails) from scratch…with mentorship from some of the best ROR coders In Kenya. The first step is always setting up the environment,and trust me you don’t want to be that guy going at a pro  “how do I set up Ruby on rails on my machine”..so Had to do it myself…hit the usual stumbling blocks and decided to write this to help anyone who will go through the same:

First  my environment Fedora 17 GNOME on 6GB RAM, Core i5. That being said,I tried setup the  old fashioned way

sudo yum install ruby
sudo yum install rubygems
gem install rails

Screenshot from 2013-07-08 09:53:09

But the problem with doing it that was is I could not install some gems (rails,sqlite or mysql)

Screenshot from 2013-07-08 12:42:42

So after some research and asking around I got to learn that I should do this setup using RVM ….so here is how I did it

First install  the prerequisites

sudo yum install git-core curl make bzip2 gcc-c++ patch readline readline-devel zlib zlib-devel libyaml-devel libffi-devel libxslt-devel sqlite sqlite-devel openssl openssl-devel

We are now ready to install RVM:

bash -s stable < <(curl -s https://raw.github.com/wayneeseguin/rvm/master/binscripts/rvm-installer)

…followed by,

echo '[[ -s "$HOME/.rvm/scripts/rvm" ]] && . "$HOME/.rvm/scripts/rvm" # Load RVM function' >> ~/.bashrc

Finally, reload your .bashrc file with the following command:

. .bashrc

Ensure that RVM is loaded with the following command, which should output “rvm is a function”:

type rvm | head -1

The following steps will install Ruby, Rails and the Sqlite3 gem. Execute these in order:

first,

rvm install 1.9.3

then…

rvm use 1.9.3 --default

Screenshot from 2013-07-08 12:12:23

followed by…

gem install rails

Screenshot from 2013-07-08 12:30:57

…and finally,

gem install sqlite3

Screenshot from 2013-07-08 12:40:07

 

And Viola you have Ruby,rails and sqlite setup (if you are planning on using MYSQL then you can as well install it instead of sqlite)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “So begineth me and Ruby on Rails

  1. joseph

    July 16, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    I want to to thank an individual for this excellent read!! My spouse and i definitely enjoying every bit of it I have you bookmarked to view new stuff an individual post

     
  2. joe

    September 22, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    I’ve also migrated to ROR, as a java developer, i see more opportunities as compared to when i used to code in java. So i did some intro to Ruby programming from the usual & simple tutorials from “Bucky” then went ahead and installed rvm, gems and rails, and now am following some tutorials from a guy on youtube known as “Andrew perks”. And am also looking out for a ROR community in Nairobi. follow me @joethuoo

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

