RSS

The IT crowd:Feasty Friday.

30 Apr

TV drama for the day:

The IT Crowd.

Set in the London offices of the fictional corporation Reynholm industries,the show  revolves around the three staff members of its IT department,comprising their boss,the geeky technician and a genius named Maurice Moss….(sorry no intern in the drama)

Well my IT department is no different…there are 3 staff members plus me(the intern).How are my days like you may wonder?well..

My mornings are typical,its past 6:30am and am headed to the bus stop(i conveniently left out the part about how I woke up,dragged myself to the shower…you know) jamming to some music from my phone.7:45am  am at work.For some weird reason i always  find my boss  in the office,I have noted that I usually leave him at work am some how find him there,talk  about resilience….I am yet to ascertain  he doesn’t  teleport  himself  to work…so i boot up my machine and my day officially begins.

Now anyone with basic computer skills will agree with me that a computer with no administrative privileges is like a glorified calculator,well am not logged in as an administrator. What this means is no custom settings,no Facebook,no Twitter and yes no Blogging.All i have for pass time is email forwarding.

Now don’t get it twisted and think  am not ecstatic,quite the contrary,in place of  regular internet i have a whole file-server to myself,next to that is the mail server and a server room. My workstation is equally impressive..why u may ask?Visual Studio 2010 babie,and not the cracked version i have on my PC,the real thing…..that’s like a programmers wet dream.

Just as i get settled!

“ring! ring! ring!”

“IT Support how may i help you”, yes people the phone knows just  how to ruin a perfect moment ,coding today will have to be delayed.

A couple of loose connections and several restarts  later and am back!

mod explain

{

sub main()

Dim section,aggregate  As Integer

Time to get back to the art of the code……….all  in an interns day!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2011 in INTERNSHIP

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
