RSS

How I almost met your mum.

08 May

Disclaimer:The events and people depicted in this post are  fictional,any resemblance with people leaving or otherwise is purely  coincidental.That being said,enjoy.

“Can I take you out sometime?”,I enthusiastically asked.

“Jaymo there is something I have to tell you,am seeing someone else,its not official but i think he is the one”

I know what you are thinking,this is just another one of those posts,its not,this is me getting dumped and its not even happening face to face,its happening via Facebook,the same site that had brought us together in the first place-damn you Mark Zukerberg.

Am frantically typing,thank God for Qwerty keyboards,  “With who????”

The wait begins,I hit refresh like a hundred times on opera mini,still nothing,I pace the room,mad thoughts running through my mind.Pick  up the phone,refresh inbox (1),then i freeze up,the words couldn’t be clearer.

“With Austin,I thought you would have guessed by now.”

What follows is  awkward silence,I hear they call it pin drop silence.I take a sit,pour a stiff one, Kenya Cane never tasted  so plain,and allow myself to absorb it all.

Allow me to indulge you,She had the prettiest name you ever heard,Sandy Sue. Sandy was not you average chic on the block,far from it,she had the it factor in her,that touch of brilliance that made her stand out.Come to think of it,maybe that’s what drew me to her.

It happened just like it did in the movies,our meeting was magical. I had just gate crashed a bash in tao,the terrible trio was at it again

A couple of hours of frothy indulgence later and i was good to go,the mamas were ripe for the picking,and i was not going to pass out  on the opportunity. You know how it goes,a brother worked his magic around the club till he caught a glance of her.

There she was,immaculately dressed,Her eyes were golden,the smile she was wearing  priceless,a couple of guys were indulging her in casual talk.I took a  shot of viceroy and observed her from a distance.The fellas who were chatting her left,this was my shot…i made my way her seat.First thing to grab my attention was the bottle of Alvaro in her hand,Note to self:Non drinker

Swag check,style check I was good to go.”Hi am James”

She turned towards me,her smile was intoxicating.”Or did i catch you at a wrong time”I panically asked.

“Not at all,am Sandy,Sandy Sue.Pleasure to meet you.” That was my que and a brother wasn’t going let the moment slip.After the usual pleasantries,Casual talk was exchanged,Numbers were givenand facebook contacts added.A promise of  later acquittance promised.

The next day spelt the beginning of a well strategised plan to win Sandy over.I sent her my first text,

“Uko online,log in facebook ”

I loged on to facebook and sent myfirst inbox.

“Evening chic,how was your day?”

She called me boy,I called her chic.

The semester ended,The December holiday begun..Being residents of differnt towns,the long distance thing would have to do.If Bob Collymore would be asked am sure he would bear testimony,the number of hour spent either texting, calling or facebooking must have earnt Safaricom  a pretty penny.

A new semester dawned,School was back in session.

I still remember how Good it felt when we hugged  for the first time,her scent was un mistakable-Catherine,designer obviously,it lingered on even in her absence.The four months that constituted the semester were golden by any measure.

Memories of how we went clubing,Me trying to sway her to have a bottle of two,her so vehemently in refusal.

The lady in Yellow I recall,some how she had a way of combining two things i loved-yellow and her- into an ochestra of pure beauty.

Even the fellas were jealous,Jaymo was smitten,She had managed to turn a brother into a love sick puppy.

It wasn’t pure clock work differences were obviously there:Like here love for Reggae and eveything Jamaican and his love for Hip Hop.But just like eveything natural an equilibrium of sorts was struck.

Many are the nights he spent at her place,willowing in her presence,either watching the Animations she loved so much or just striking casual conversation about this and that lecturer and how he or she had ruined her day.

Am not sure what drew me to her,maybe it was her simplicity or maybe i was just looking for someone to fix me,my drinking had taken a rise over the weeks.But whatever it was, surely was working because this mama had gotten me smitten.

But Destiny has a twisted sense of humor,it has a way of  facking you up when you least expect it because here i find myself.

Questioning my manhood.wondering what went wrong.wondering whether it was that night i came to her place drunk,I had gotten into a comfort  spot of sorts, rarely putting any effort.Or maybe it was  the times i snoobed in  campo.

whatever it was,here I am,sipping away the liquor in my glass.typing my goodbye

Thoughts resonating in my mind,i can only  view myself as crayon in her life,i might not be her favorite color,but  one day she is going to need me to complete her picture

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2011 in Humour, MEMORIES., Reflections

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “How I almost met your mum.

  1. rugenyi

    May 8, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    ¡ahem brother!

     
    • akajaymo

      May 8, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      wewe btw itakuwaje ile maneno yetu…friday isha pita ama ulirudi syatem

       
  2. June Juma

    May 13, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Aiiiight!

     
    • akajaymo

      May 13, 2011 at 10:14 am

      true story nakwambia….a brother still trying to get over the whole ordeal

       
  3. nickae

    June 9, 2011 at 8:36 am

    tru dat. A fcvkin twisted sense of humor destiny got.

     
    • akajaymo

      June 9, 2011 at 8:56 am

      TWISTED is the word,twisted in deed

       
  4. Jaybee Jinabwaku (@iJaybeeM)

    April 5, 2013 at 6:18 am

    Heheheheeeee!budddah blaze

     
    • akajaymo

      April 5, 2013 at 6:20 am

      Nini nini Mtu Nguyaz hahaha…hii maneno ni true

       
  5. przewodniki po warszawie

    August 4, 2013 at 11:03 am

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much,
    However I am experiencing difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
