RSS

The tao of Programming

23 Feb

Prince Wang’s programmer was coding software. His fingers
danced upon the keyboard. The program compiled without an
error message, and the program ran like a gentle wind.
“Excellent!” the Prince exclaimed, “Your technique is faultless!”
“Technique?” said the programmer turning from his terminal,
“What I follow is Tao — beyond all techniques! When I first
began to program I would see before me the whole problem in
one mass. After three years I no longer saw this mass. Instead, I
used subroutines. But now I see nothing. My whole being exists
in a formless void. My senses are idle. My spirit, free to work
without plan, follows its own instinct. In short, my program
writes itself. True, sometimes there are difficult problems. I see
them coming, I slow down, I watch silently. Then I change a
single line of code and the difficulties vanish like puffs of idle
smoke. I then compile the program. I sit still and let the joy of
the work fill my being. I close my eyes for a moment and then
log off.”
Prince Wang said, “Would that all of my programmers were as
wise!”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
